This Blog is related to blogger's academic life specially related with his research field (Computational Sanskrit & Kashmir Shavism). It explores Computaional aspects of Sanskrit and also the theology, philosophy and tradition from the viewpoint of various schools, texts, and teachers of Kashmir Shaiva Philosophy.It contains the comparative cosmological views of Sankhya & KS. This blog also reflects the blogger's personal experience with
other field of his academic life. Creative Commons License All original writings (articles etc.) on this site are copyrighted and licensed (does not apply to translations) by BIPIN JHA under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.5 India License. Based on a work at bipinkumarjha.blogspot.com. Kindly CONTACT for permission if you wish to extract writings from this site. Feel free to link to individual posts. VISIT BIPIN KUMAR JHA's HOME PAGE

Saturday, 4 December, 2010


                               FLAG CODE OF  INDIA
            The Indian National Flag represents the hopes and aspirations of the people of India. It is the
symbol of our national pride. Over the last five decades, several people including members of armed
forces have ungrudgingly laid down their lives to keep the tricolour flying in its full glory.   
            The significance of the colours and the chakra in the National Flag was amply described by
Dr. S. Radhakrishnan in the Constituent Assembly which unanimously adopted the National Flag.  
Dr. S. Radhakrishnan explained—“Bhagwa or the saffron colour denotes renunciation of
disinterestedness.  Our leaders must be indifferent to material gains and dedicate themselves to their
work.  The white in the centre is light, the path of truth to guide our conduct.  The green shows our
relation to soil, our relation to the plant life here on which all other life depends.  The Ashoka Wheel 
in the center of the white is the wheel of the law of dharma.  Truth or satya, dharma or virtue ought to 
be the controlling principles of those who work under this flag.  Again, the wheel denotes motion.  
There is death in stagnation.  There is life in movement.  India should no more resist change, it must
move and go forward.   The wheel represents the dynamism of a peaceful change.”
            There is universal affection and  respect for, and loyalty to, the National Flag. Yet, a
perceptible lack of awareness is often noticed, not only amongst people but also in the
organisations/agencies of the government, in regard to laws, practices and conventions that apply to
the display of the National Flag. Apart from non-statutory instructions issued by the Government
from time to time, display of the National Flag is governed by the provisions of the Emblems and
Names (Prevention of Improper Use) Act, 1950 (No.12 of 1950) and the Prevention of Insults to
National Honour Act, 1971 (No. 69 of 1971). Flag Code of India, 2002 is an attempt to bring together
all such laws, conventions, practices and instructions for the guidance and benefit of all concerned. 
            For the sake of convenience, Flag Code of India, 2002, has been divided into three parts. Part I
of the Code contains general description of the National Flag. Part II of the Code is devoted to the
display of the National Flag by members of public, private organizations, educational institutions, etc.
Part III of the Code relates to display of the National Flag by Central and State governments and their
organisations and agencies. 
   READ in Detail http://www.mha.nic.in/pdfs/flagcodeofindia.pdf

No comments:

Post a Comment