This Blog is related to blogger's academic life specially related with his research field (Computational Sanskrit & Kashmir Shavism). It explores Computaional aspects of Sanskrit and also the theology, philosophy and tradition from the viewpoint of various schools, texts, and teachers of Kashmir Shaiva Philosophy.It contains the comparative cosmological views of Sankhya & KS. This blog also reflects the blogger's personal experience with
other field of his academic life. Creative Commons License All original writings (articles etc.) on this site are copyrighted and licensed (does not apply to translations) by BIPIN JHA under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.5 India License. Based on a work at bipinkumarjha.blogspot.com. Kindly CONTACT for permission if you wish to extract writings from this site. Feel free to link to individual posts. VISIT BIPIN KUMAR JHA's HOME PAGE

Monday, 26 July, 2010

The twenty-five tattvas of Sankhya Philosophy

त्रिगुणसाम्यावस्था प्रकृतिः। Nature (prakriti) is the state of equipoise of sattva, rajas and tamas. 

From Nature [proceeds] Mind (mahat); from Mind, Self-consciousness (ahamkara); from Self-consciousness, the five Subtle Elements (tanmatra), and both sets [external and internal] of Organs (indriya); and, from the Subtle Elements, the Gross Elements (sthula-bhuta). [Then there is] Soul (purusha). Such is the class of twenty-five.  Sankhya Karika 

25. Purusha – the sentient being (consciousness), the experiencer

24. Prakriti – primal nature (root of all insentient matter)

Antahkaranas – internal organs
23. Mahat-Buddhi – intelligence
22. Ahamkara – objective ego 
21. Manas – mind

Jnanendriyas – organs of knowledge
20. Stotra – organ of hearing (ears)
19. Tvak – organ of touching (skin)
18. Chakshu – organ of seeing (eyes)
17. Rasana – organ of tasting (palette)
16. Ghrana – organ of smelling (nose)

Karmendriyas – organs of action
15. Vak – organ of speech (tongue)
14. Pani – organ of grasping (hands)
13. Pada – organ of movement (feet)
12. Payu – organ of excretion (anus)
11. Upastha – organ of sex

Tanmatras – subtle elements
10. Shabda – sound
9. Sparsha – feel
8. Rupa – form
7. Rasa – taste
6. Gandha - smell

Mahabhutas – gross elements
5. Akasha – space
4. Vayu – air
3. Tejas – fire
2. Ap – water
1. Prithivi - earth

No comments:

Post a Comment